The 2018 EACTS/AATS Excellence Award was awarded to:

Translational research: The use of our current knowledge in understanding postoperative atrial fibrillation 
M. Gilbers, Maastricht, The Netherlands 


The AATS Foundation Academic Excellence Award will be distributed on a yearly basis at annual meetings of affiliate organizations around the world. The goal of this award is to provide a formal award of academic/scientific excellence for either an abstract or poster presentation. An award of up to $2,500 USD will be provided to a single recipient as determined by the Review Committee. The AATS Foundation is proud to offer the 5th EACTS-AATS Foundation Academic Excellence Award at the upcoming 33rd EACTS Annual Meeting in Lisbon, Portugal.

The Award is upto $2,500.

Applications for the 2019 awards is open until 31 July 2019

Eligibility criteria

The first author should be a Trainee Member of – or applied for – The European Association for Cardio-Thoracic Surgery.

Applicants must submit an abstract (coming soon) for the 2019 Annual Meeting under the Work in Progress topic


Presentation Format

Your presentation should be prepared as a regular Presentation as per the session you are presenting in (Abstract /Rapid Response)  (see guidelines) and will be viewed by the Award Panel and the winner announced before the Presidential Address on Friday 4 October 2019.