EACTS 34th Annual Meeting
Learn more Register Now

2019 Young Investigator Award Winners

Acquired Cardiac
Alvise Guariento (Boston): Mitochondrial Transplantation for Myocardial Protection following Warm Global Ischemia-Reperfusion Injury in ex-vivo Perfused Diabetic Hearts

Diana Baccin (Pisa): Surgical treatment of pleural recurrence of thymoma: Is hyperthermic intrathoracic chemotherapy worthwhile?

Takashi Yasukawa (Osaka): Surgical ablation of ventricular tachycardia in repaired tetralogy of fallot

Applications for the 2020 awards will open on 1 February 2020 until 31 May 2020

To stimulate research, the EACTS has instituted prizes for the best manuscripts on topics of clinical or experimental research in the fields of Thoracic Surgery, Cardiac Surgery and Congenital Heart Disease presented by young investigators at the Annual Meeting of the European Association for Cardio-Thoracic Surgery.

The Award is €3,000 for each prize.

Closing date: 31 May 2020

Eligibility criteria

Candidates may be members or non-members of The European Association for Cardio-Thoracic Surgery.

Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • Submit an abstract for the 2020 Annual Meeting;
  • Be the first author of the paper;
  • Be under 35 years of age (in 2020);
  • Present unpublished work not previously presented at a major (national or International) scientific meeting;
  • Select the ‘Young Investigator’s Award’ option in the abstract application process;
  • Submit a covering letter from the Director of Service or Laboratory in the Institution at which the research programme has been undertaken, indicating the originality of the investigation and the proportion of the work performed by the candidate.
  • Submit the manuscript to EJCTS for review by the Award Panel before 1 September 2020If the manuscript is not submitted by this date you will forfeit your entry to the award.
  • Attend the award ceremony at the 34rd EACTS Annual Meeting in Barcelona

Presentation Format

Your presentation should be prepared as a regular Presentation as per the session you are presenting in (Abstract /Rapid Response)  (see guidelines) and will be viewed by the Young Investigator Award panel and the winner announced during the Award Ceremony on Friday 9 October 2020.