Mandeep R. Mehra

Dr Mandeep Mehra is the William Harvey Distinguished Chair in Advanced Cardiovascular Medicine, a Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School and Executive Director of the Center for Advanced Heart Disease at Brigham and women’s Hospital and Harvard Medical School in Boston, Massachusetts. He also served as founding Medical Director of the Heart and Vascular Center (2013-2019) at the Brigham and was Editor-in-Chief, The Journal of Heart and Lung Transplantation, which rose to #1 ranked journal in its field under his leadership (2010-2020). Dr. Mehra is the only individual to have been appointed as President (2008) of the International Society of Heart and Lung Transplantation (ISHLT) and President of the Heart Failure Society of America (HFSA), the two premier societies in the field of advanced heart disease. He has authored over 500 scholarly papers with a specific focus on Advanced Heart Failure and among some highlights, discovered the obesity paradox in heart failure, described the natural history of cardiac allograft vasculopathy after transplantation, established the pivotal international guidelines for selection and care of transplant patients, defined the role of new immunosuppression to improve transplant outcomes and helped introduce genomic based biomarkers for evaluating cardiac allograft rejection. In recent years his research focus shifted to evaluation of novel left ventricular assist devices (“artificial heart pumps”) engineered to reduce the burden of adverse effects and allow use in broader populations of patients. This work published in the New England Journal of Medicine has resulted in the introduction of novel therapy for advanced heart failure patients and its practice changing implications have been seen around the world in advanced heart failure. Dr. Mehra has a certificate in Executive leadership from the Harvard Business School and also completed a Master of Science in Health Economics and Management at the London School of Economics in 2018, a degree earned through his designation as a “Braunwald Scholar”.